subscribe: Posts | Comments | Email

2016 Nurse Responder of the Year

Comments Off on 2016 Nurse Responder of the Year

Call for Nominations – Nurse Responder of the Year Award

New Deadline: 11 SEPTEMBER 2015

The Nurse Responder of the Year Award, established in 2005, acknowledges active duty, retired, and Inactive Reserve Corps nurse officers in the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service (Corps) who have made outstanding achievements and contributions in emergency preparedness and disaster response to national or international public health threats. The award recipient will be selected using the following criteria:

 Contributions to emergency preparedness and/or disaster response within the last 12-18 months:

  • Impact on public health preparedness and response
  • Nursing skills and knowledge used to achieve significant accomplishments related to emergency response, preparedness, and disaster management
  • Publications and presentations in the public arena related to preparedness and response
  • Role and impact in deployments
  • Training and education applicable to preparedness and response
  • Willingness to give credit to the Corps for deployment activities (i.e., crediting the Corps in presentations and publications)

For Commissioned Corps officers, the Division of Commissioned Corps Personnel and Readiness (DCCPR) will verify and report to the NPAC Awards Subcommittee Co-chairs that there are no outstanding adverse actions and that an active nursing license is on file; all Commissioned Corps officers must be classified as Basic Ready. Nomination procedures:

Nominations can be made via self-nomination or submission by a nominator. The nomination must be made in the form of a two-page (maximum), single-spaced, 12-font document with at least a one inch margin. Two copies (one blinded copy that does not contain the name of the nominee and one copy that contains the name of the nominee) should be sent.  The nominations should contain:

  • The narrative statement should provide a clear and concise description of how the nominee meets the award criteria, including a description of the nominee’s significant contributions made in emergency preparedness and disaster response for national and international public health threats.  


Nominations must be received by the NRY Award Team Leaders, NPAC Awards Subcommittee, CAPT Cubie Beasley ( and CDR Tessa Brown (, no later than Friday, September 11, 2015. The Nurse Responder of the Year Award consists of a plaque which is presented by the Chief Nurse Officer during Nurse Category Day at the 2016 USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium. Additionally, the Nurse Responder of the Year recipient will compete against other professional category nominees for the PHS-wide Commissioned Corps Responder of the Year Award.    


Note: In order to be transparent and equitable, reviewers for the Nurse Responder of the Year Award cannot be a nominator (self or otherwise) or nominee for the Nurse Responder of the Year Award.