subscribe: Posts | Comments | Email

Nominations - Nurse PAC 2013 Lucille Woodville Award

Comments Off on Nominations - Nurse PAC 2013 Lucille Woodville Award

Call for Nominations – Nurse PAC 2013 Lucille Woodville Award

Deadline Date: 25 January 2013

The United States Public Health Service (USPHS), Nurse Professional Advisory Committee (N-PAC) to the Office of the Surgeon General (OSG) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 2013 Lucille Woodville Award.

This award was established in the Public Health Service’s (PHS) centennial year as a memorial to the professional career of Lucille Woodville, who began her illustrious career in the Indian Health Service (IHS) in 1956. As part of her work in IHS, Ms. Woodville established the first Nurse Midwifery Service in Bethel, Alaska. She retired in 1973, after serving as Assistant Chief (1964-1971) and Chief (1971-1973) of the Maternal and Child Health Branch, Division of Indian Health, Health Resources Services Administration.

This award is open to Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) registered nurses (Civil Service, Commissioned Corps, or Tribal Direct Hire)*.

This award honors a nurse midwife or a maternal/child health nurse whose work has resulted in:

· Significant contribution to the health and well-being of mothers and newborns;

· Outstanding contributions in improving maternal/child health;

· Commitment of time and skills in the clinical setting, or may be in the design, implementation and/or management of innovative maternal/child  health programs.

 Nomination Procedure
Any employer or employee of the HHS or Associate of an HHS contract or grant program may nominate a Commissioned Corps nurse for which this award has been established in the form of a letter containing:

· Name, title and grade or rank of the nominee, PHS# (if nominee is a Commissioned Officer)

· Work experience and educational background of the nominee;

· A brief description of the nominee’s present duties and responsibilities including the scope of work;

· A narrative statement of how the person meets the criteria for the award including a description of the specific accomplishments and/or contributions on which the nomination is based;

· Must state, in writing, that the individual is in good standing and has an active RN license on file (for Commissioned Corps officers it must be on file with the Division of Commissioned Corps Personnel and Readiness (DCCPR);

· An endorsement by the nominee’s supervisor (responsible for ensuring the candidate’s good standing and work performance);

For Commissioned Corps officers, the final DCCPR verification will be completed by the NPAC Awards Subcommittee Co-chairs to ensure that there are no outstanding adverse actions and that an active nursing license is on file; all Commissioned Corps officers must be classified as Office of Force Readiness and Development Basic Ready; and award nominations should be limited to two pages.

Submissions must be received ELECTRONICALLY by close of business on 25 January 2013. Two copies (one copy that does not contain the name of the nominee and one copy that does contain the name of the nominee), should be sent directly to CDR Leigh Bernardino and CDR Tessa Brown, COA Award Co-Team leaders, NPAC Awards Subcommittee, at and

Submissions received after 25 January 2013 will not be accepted. If you require additional information, please email CDRs Leigh Bernardino and Tessa Brown as above. Information on this awards, as well as others, can be found at

Contact information for the nominator and nominee must be included with the nomination. Please provide current e-mail addresses, a physical mailing address for the nominee, PHS# (if nominee is a Commissioned Officer), and current telephone numbers for both the nominator and nominee. All submissions are limited to two pages.


 LW 2013 Call Nominations Cover Sheet

*Any HHS nurse = Any Department of Health and Human Services nurse (Civil Service, Commissioned Corps or Tribal Direct Hire; Licensed Practical Nurse, Licensed Vocational Nurse, Registered Nurse, or Advanced Practice Nurse) or any commissioned corps nurse officer assigned to a non-DHHS agency may be nominated for this award.